TNS Team

Alvin is the Founder and Artistic Director of The Necessary Stage and a leading proponent of devising theatre in Singapore, having directed more than 70 plays which have been staged localled and at international festivals. He has been awarded a Fulbright Scholarship and in 1998, was conferred the Young Artist Award for Theatre. In 2010, Alvin was conferred the Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture, in recognition of his significant contribution to the arts. The following year, he was awarded Best Director at 2011 The Straits Times Life! Theatre Awards for Model Citizens by The Necessary Stage.

Alvin was previously invited by the Ministry of Education to design a drama syllabus at 'O' Levels for implementation in schools. In 2014, Alvin was conferred the Cultural Medallion for his artistic excellence and contribution to Singapore‚Äôs arts and cultural landscape. He is also currently the Artistic Director of Peer Pleasure, an annual youth-oriented theatre festival in Singapore. 


Haresh has been the Resident Playwright of The Necessary Stage since 1990. He was awarded the Cultural Medallion in 2015. To date, he has written more than 100 plays, which have been staged in over 20 cities. His play, Off Centre, was selected by the Ministry of Education as a Literature text for 'N' and 'O' Levels.
Haresh has 10 publications of his plays, including Trilogy, Shorts 1, Shorts 2 and Don't Forget to Remember Me. His works have been translated into Malay, Chinese, Greek and Italian. He was awarded Best Original Script for Fundamentally Happy, Good People and Gemuk Girls during the 2007, 2008 and 2009 Life! Theatre Awards respectively.

He has participated in several writers' festival including the inaugural Singapore Literature Festival in New York (2014), the New Delhi World Book Fair (2015), the Ubud Writers and Readers Festival (2015), and the Hong Kong Literary Festival (2015).

Haresh is the first non-American to be awarded the prestigious Goldberg Master Playwright by New York University's Tisch School of the Arts in 2011. In 2014, he was conferred the Southeast Asian Writers (or S.E.A. Write) Award (Singapore), which recognises and honour literary excellence in the ASEAN region. 

Corporate / Management Structure
Legal Status
The Necessary Stage Limited is a Company Limited by Guarantee registered under the Charities Act.
Board of Directors
The Board of Directors is the governing body of The Necessary Stage.
The Board comprises the following members:
  • Dr. Tan Chong Kee (chairperson)
  • Sunder Iyer
  • Diana Lim-Chong
  • Vincent Lim
  • Haresh Sharma
  • Alvin Tan
  • Christopher Tan
  • Dr. Kenneth Paul Tan
  • Andy Yeo

Staffing Structure
The Company is divided according to the Artistic and Administration arms:
Artistic Director:
Alvin Tan

Resident Playwright:
Haresh Sharma

General Manager:
Melissa Lim

Festival Manager:
Jezamine Tan

Festival Coordinator:
Mish'aal Nasar

Project Managers:
Edlyn Ng
Irma Suzanna Ruslan
Karmen Wong

Production Manager:
Azyyati Alias

Shawn Chua Ming Ren

Accounts Assistant:
Choo Kok Cheng

Two Point Pte Ltd