Playwrights' Cove

Part of the TNS Devising Platform 2024

No items found.

In 2001, TNS launched Playwrights’ Cove, a development and mentorship programme aimed at nurturing, processing and platforming contemporary playwriting for Singapore theatre. Many of its participants are well-known practitioners and educators today, including Jean Tay, Ng Yi-sheng, Natalie Hennedige, Kenneth Kwok and Matthew Lyon.

We re-launched Playwrights' Cove in 2020 and 10 selected participants underwent training and mentorship by Resident Playwright Haresh Sharma. To find out more about Playwrights' Cove 2020, click here.

Playwrights' Cove 2022 featured 10 participants and culminated with them presenting their newly developed works in November 2022 at Practice Space, The Theatre Practice. More information about the line-up and the new works created can be found here.

2024's iteration of Playwrights' Cove will see 11 participants undergo training and mentorship once again with Haresh Sharma. The list of selected participants are as follows:

  • Alia Alkaff
  • Angela Kong
  • Edward Eng
  • Jovan Ang
  • Melizarani T. Selva
  • Ong Chong An
  • Rachael Ng
  • Sarah Zafirah Bte Noor Ashikin
  • Shawn Chua
  • Sindhura Kalidas
  • Wan Nur Syafiqa Binte Syed Yusoff

Stay tuned for the public readings of their works-in-progress in November 2024!

production photos
No items found.
Photo Credit: